Harpishord Recital by Mike Bardsley

Last year, Mike Bardsley impressed our lunchtime audience with an elegant short recital in All Saints Church as part of our Little Lunch Music series. He returns this year with a full programme hosted by Dilton Marsh Arts Trust who will serve refreshments including wine.

Last time Mike brought his ‘travelling’ harpsichord but this year he will be bringing his full-sized instrument. And as harpsichords do not travel well, he will be bringing David Law, a kind of harpsichord “roadie”,  to reset it and he just just happens to be the man who built the instrument!


About Mike:

Following a Junior Exhibition to Trinity College of Music, Mike read Music at Dartington College of Arts, where he studied the harpsichord with Roy Truby and John Wellingham. Whilst at Dartington he was also able to take advantage of master classes with several eminent visiting harpsichordists, including Christopher Hogwood and Kenneth Gilbert. More recently he has studied with the harpsichordist Penelope Cave.

Mike performs as a piano and harpsichord accompanist and recitalist with a variety of soloists, including recent concerts with the violinist David Juritz and with fellow-Dartingtonian, Arne Richards. Over the last few years he has worked with the ensembles 4’s Company and Good Company as a piano accompanist, and as a harpsichordist with The Compton Chamber Ensemble, which concentrates on the Baroque repertoire. As a soloist he has given harpsichord recitals in Chelmsford Cathedral, Sulgrave Manor, Chastleton House, Chipping Norton Theatre and the Ashmolean Museum and has recently completed an acclaimed series of recitals for the Bate Collection in Oxford.

Book now

Tickets for this event will also be on sale in Dilton Marsh at Crowning Glory, 81a High Street and Fairfield College.


Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre

from suite No. 1 in D minor from Pieces de clavecin – 1707

Prelude – La Flamande – Courante – Sarabande

Gigue & Double Chaconne – Rigaudons I & II

Francois Couperin

from Second Livre de pièces de clavecin, Huitième Ordre – 1716


J.N.P. Royer

from Pieces de Clavecin – 1746

Tambourins I & II – Le Vertigo


J. Hayden

Sonata in G Hob.XVI/6

Allegro – Minuet & Trio – Adagio – Finale – Allegro molto

G.F. Handel

Chaconne in F

J. Hayden

Sonata in D Hob.XVI/14

Allegro – Minuet & Trio – Finale – Presto